The Catholic Revival in English Literature, 1845–1961

Ian Ker

This book presents a thorough discussion of the six principal writers of the Catholic revival in English literature - Newman, Hopkins, Belloc, Chesterton, Greene, and Waugh.  Beginning with Newman’s conversion in 1845 and ending with Waugh’s completion of the trilogy The Sword of Honour in 1961, it explores how Catholicism shaped the work of these six prominent writers.

978 085244 625 6

236 pages